Good to be Great, Need to be Different at TEDxNTU

On Sat, I had the pleasure of being the closing speaker at TEDxNTU.

TED is a nonprofit organization devoted to “Ideas Worth Spreading”. TEDx was created in the spirit of TED’s mission, “ideas worth spreading” The program is designed to give communities, organizations and individuals the opportunity to stimulate dialogue through TED-like experiences at the local level.

I’m proud to be a handful of international magicians who have been invited to speak at TED events. Other names who have spoken at other TED events include David Blaine, Keith Barry and Marco Tempest.

My talk was on creativity entitled “Behind the Magic: The Value of Being Different”. I shared my key approaches of behind different that translate into value in the marketplace. I spoke on past experiences and how being different gives an individual, product or organization value.

I also presented some magic including my final version of a blindfold routine called “Blindfold Perception”. This act sees me completely blindfolded but being able to perceive my environment accurately. The finale sees me read the mind of a spectator while he thinks of the last four digits of a bill from his wallet.

I have been working on this routine since 2002 and it has been through at least 6 -8 incarnations. I was never completely satisfied but finally I have developed the routine to its final state and I debuted it at TEDxNTU. The routine is tremendously clean and uses no other props other than the blindfold materials and a green ball.

I really enjoyed myself at the event and watched some great speakers in action as well as watched some really awesome TED videos. I made new friends and look forward to even working with some of them.

Other speakers for TEDxNTU include George Barbastathis, Dr V.Anantha Nageswaran, Chris Tobias, Neil Walter, Ngiam Tee Woh, Nitin Krishnamurthy, Dr Foo Check Teck, Mark Cheng and James Norris.

Look forward to the videos of the talks online very soon!

A group photo with all the speakers and organizing team.

Thanks to the team at TEDxNTU and congrats for a successful first event! It was a pleasure speaking at a TEDx event and I look forward to spreading more about creativity and our brand of magic at future similar projects.

Check out all the photos here.

About J C Sum

International Headline Entertainer, Content Creator and Investor
This entry was posted in Behind The Scenes, Commercial Creative Artist and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

