DVDs, Books, Magic & Creative Stimuli

Over the last couple of weeks, I have been reading lots of books (magic & non-magic) and watched lots of DVDs. Inspiration and creative stimuli is essential in a period where I’m planning, designing and developing projects.

I enjoy listening to audio commentaries of TV shows and movies as they give a lot of writing, producing and directing background insight. Many apparantly indiscrimminate things are actually written or designed with intention and purpose which gives depth and texture to the show.

Gosh, in the last couple of weeks, I’ve watched 30 Rock Season 3, The Mentalist Season 1, How I Met Your Mother Season 4 (I love this show), Transformers 2, Twlight and a whole bunch of magic DVDs.

Some time I also watched a movie called “The Great Buck Howard” starring John Malkovich and Colin Hanks. It is a story about a stage mentalist past his prime. Great for magic geeks!

I designed a new version of a classic illusion invented by Chuck Jones, called the “Mis-made Girl”. I’ve redesigned the look of the illusion and part of the method to create a fresh twist to it called “Multi-Divide”. I’m not sure if we will build this for ourselves but it will definitely be included in my next book (whenever that will come out).

I’ve also developed a brand new “Multiplying Bottles” routine that is a radical departure from the standard routines. It is completely different from the routine we currently do and performed in “Ultimate Magic” for 13 months.

The plot and premise is completely different from anything done before and is a breakthrough in presentation plot and part method. It requires a custom table which has already been fabricated. You can see this routine at “Sexy Magic/ Urban Illusions” in Jan 2010. I will be releasing an ebook on this routine and my previous routine as well as other ideas. The main motivation to release the ebook so soon is really to protect the ownership of this presentational plot.

Look out for it!

About J C Sum

International Headline Entertainer, Content Creator and Investor
This entry was posted in Behind The Scenes, Design and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

