Illusion Book Reviews & Win “The Event Illusionist”

As mentioned a few weeks ago, my illusion books will be reviewed on a fairly new but very promising magic review site called “The Magic Review”.

“The Magic Review” is run by Milton Andrews and gives one of the most discerning and detailed reviews (online and offline) on marketed magic products, DVDs and books. When I say discerning, I mean he is brutally objective and frank, based on his opinion and wealth of knowledge.

I believe a large percentage of his reviews will be on books, based on readers’ feedback and the fact that reviews of DVDs and effects can be easily found. Books are not as popular as DVDs as a learning medium in this current digital age, but all serious students of the craft know that the best value for money and gems can be found in books.

I’ve always stressed that books are the way to go as they leave the presentation and idiosycratic handling of effects and routines open to the reader. When effects are learnt from DVDs, the viewer tends to be highly influenced by the exact style and presentation as taught – hence turning the viewer into a clone. The only except I would give across the board is that DVDs are better mediums to learn technical handlings and sleights but not full presentations and routines. This may be a reason why current established magicians all have their unique style and the current new generation of ‘street magicians’ all perform, speak and dress the same.

But I digress…

I think that “The Magic Review” is very promising and I hope Milton can keep up with the quality reviews as I know how much time and effort goes to writing good reviews. He has shared his process on his site and I can imagine how long it will take to review a single item. But the end result, is a highly detailed and objective review – which is what the real value is to the reader. It will allow you to decide whether or not you want to invest in that particular item.

I was impressed by the depth of the reviews and the ones that stood out to me were:

The Pendragons DVD – I have watched this set and Ning has the personally autographed set from The Pendragons themselves. So, I knew exactly what is on the DVDs. I think these have been his most lengthly reviews till date and are very accurate.

Verbal Magic by Juan Tamariz – I have this book as well and used it as reference when designing the magic when Ning & I did magic over the radio waves on 93.8FM a few weeks back.

“Smoke & Mirrors” by Rick Marcelli – I do not own this book but there was a considerable buzz in the magic magazines as well as forums. I was a bit skeptical due to the hype but found his review insightful.

So, I’m interested to see how he ‘tears’ my books apart 🙂

The only book that has been previously reviewed anywhere is “Illusionary Departures” in MAGIC Magazine. But, it was reviewed in the “Noted Briefly” section so it was short but positive.

I never bothered sending my stuff for review for mainly two reasons. One, my books are not a commerical endeavour so I have never strongly marketed them as I have not had the time. All my books are sold through word of mouth and my website (www.illusionbooks.com) Two, I like, and know my customers, like the fact that the books are not widely available to the public and are somewhat underground in nature. That is why I also never seeked out distributors for my books.

Anyway, my books will be reviewed shortly and Milton & I have also decided to set up a contest for readers of “The Magic Review”. My book “The Event Illusionist” is up for grabs free (and postpaid) to a lucky ready. The book is what I consider a “must-have” for anyone entertainer who is interested to make a professional career in the special events industry. I wrote it because there was nothing like this in the market and anything close was ridiculously outdated.

I first wrote it in 2004 and decided the need for the 2nd edition in late 2008 because it was out-dated already. Many people who have bought the book have said it was the best investment they had made. In fact, it was someone who had asked Milton to review this very book that got him in touch with me.

cover_event_illusionst_s

How will you get a chance to win this book? The first step will be to join “The Magic Review Facebook” group. As long as you have a Facebook account, you will be able to join. This group will also alert you to the latest reviews on “The Magic Review”.

More info on the contest will be made available on “The Magic Review” shortly.

More on this soon! Check out “The Magic Review”!

About J C Sum

International Headline Entertainer, Content Creator and Investor
This entry was posted in Illusions, Books, Products and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Illusion Book Reviews & Win “The Event Illusionist”

  1. NewToMagic says:

    More magic up for grabs? Wheee.. Sounds fun. Another competition that I can join in and win magic goodies.

  2. cardistry2007 says:

    The Magic Review looks like a cool site. now im thinking should I get Verbal Magic by Juan Tamariz. should I? or should I not? maybe I should diversify away from cards. :S

  3. BlueTornado says:

    man. I’m like reading the contents of the book and seems like there’s so much info for those who wants to do magic on stage. really for those who are thinking to perform on stage. really deep stuff.

  4. Amazzo says:

    Books and DVDs both got pros and cons. One thing, books contain more ideas more magic and more stuff in general. DVD can show you the presentation and how its suppose to look like. I suppose its up to individual’s preference. 🙂

  5. NanoMan says:

    The book is mainly for entertainers who are interested to make a professional career, right? Is it interesting for the casual hobbyists? Looks like I must wait for the review on the site. :X

  6. Khai85 says:

    cool magic give-away. what else is there needed for the competition? need to join facebook and join the The Magic Review. After that?

  7. Whodunnit says:

    Another website for me to add to my bookmarks. 😀 Magic Review. I hope he reviews more magic books and stuff. Better for us who wants to buy magic stuff but not sure if should but or not.

  8. Aaron says:

    wow, is it ok for amateurs like me to read? i’d really like to be part of the magic circle, though i really am an amateur. i hope it’s possible for me to win that book..

  9. Shiba1987 says:

    wah. just join and can win? so cool lor.will the other books also be in the competition or something in the future? then can win and collect the whole set. 😀

  10. blake says:

    thats pretty cool. a chance to win that book. is it advisable for people who are new to magic? 🙂 hehe. hoping there will be more chances to win the rest of your publications.

  11. Benny says:

    I love reading magic books. Maybe I can get to win this and add it to my collection. 🙂 Hope I win.

  12. MysteryM says:

    the magic review is a wonderful review site. didnt know there was this website online. can’t wait to read the reviews on “The Event Illusionist” and the rest of the books.

  13. Ming says:

    this magic reviewing site looks not bad. wish it reviews more stuff thats out there. that would be great.

  14. Jack says:

    wow, that’s so interesting. it’s a great thing there are people like you around, selling such books to keep the business up and running. i can’t imagine a world without magic shows..

Leave a Reply

