The Perfect Coin Pail for the Miser’s Dream

This is my first entry in a week because I’ve been pre-occupied with other things and have not had the inspiration or focus to blog. Besides finishing “Urban Illusions” which is due out in 2 weeks.

I was also writing a short story. It was originally supposed to be a kids’ story, but there is no happy ending in sight and I’m constantly reminded that not all kids’ stories have happy endings. But, I’m a believer and am resolute to do all I can to make it work out. But even J .K. Rowling could not have happy endings to all her Harry Potter books.

This is a heavy magic-centric post that ‘muggles’ may not appreciate as much! Apologies in advance.

One of the first stage routines I learnt and developed was the classic “Miser’s Dream” as named by T. Nelson Downs. I learnt the basic technique from Henry Hay’s “The Amateur Magician’s Handbook” and J.B. Bobo’s “Modern Coin Magic”. Since then, I have developed some new techniques and incorporated many handlings from multiple sources to create a strong act – which is now a featured highlight in “Ultimate Magic”. I often joke… we feature more than a quarter of a million dollars worth of illusions in the show so that the “Miser’s Dream” looks good. Everyone remembers this act!

When I first started learning the routine, I used a traditional champagne bucket. But because it was so heavy and cumbersome, it was almost impossible to perform the act. Many years ago (cira 1994), I bought my first professional coin pail manufactured by Ring & Things (a company since closed down). They released 2 versions; an aluminum pail (US$50) and a stainless steel pail (US$100). At that time, I could not afford to spend US$100 + shipping on just a coin pail (US$ exchange was 1.7 + at that time) so I bought the aluminum one. It has served me well over the years but it is now so dinged up that it looks battered and worn. I wish I had bought the stainless steel one in hind sight.

The difficulty in finding a suitable Miser’s Dream coin pail is finding one that looks good and has the right weight. All the aluminum manufactured ones look cheap, fake and not even like champagne buckets, which is what they were supposed to be. Real champagne buckets are way too heavy and small ones are just too small… Owens and Gary Darwin offers custom-made premium coin pails but are priced really high. Darwin’s is about US$130 and Owen’s US$240.

For years, I have experimented with dozens of pails, buckets and containers but none work well. So for 15 years, I’ve been using the same banged up pail.

I have yet to find a single pail that fits ALL my requirements.

Until now… Presenting “The Perfect Coin Pail”!

coin-pail-web1

I have found a manufacturer who can turn the right-sized pail out of spun stainless steel in limited quantities. The grade of the steel and thickness makes it perfect to handle the classic Miser’s Dream moves.

There is a 1/4″ lip which aids in a better grip for the Miser’s Dream handling. The lip also makes it easier for adjustments to your load, if necessary, during performance. This is especially important when you are using a large number of coins e.g. 20 or more.

Each pail is then custom-modified to reduce weight even more. While an excellent weight, the pail itself is very sturdy and will not dent easily. This pail has the loudest and most resounding ‘ring’ than any other pail on the market.

I have a collection of coin pails and very shortly, I will be filming a video that will feature a side by side comparison of the “Perfect Coin Pail” with the various pails on the market. This includes:

  • Real Champagne Bucket
  • Stainless Steel Container
  • Aluminum Bucket
  • Ring & Things Coin Pail
  • Magic Inc’s Bell Bucket
  • Darwin’s Coin Pail

Hands-down, I can tell you the “Perfect Coin Pail” is by far the best coin pail available! Its polished spun stainless steel and measures 7 1/2″ (diameter of mouth) x 8 1/4″ (height); 5″ (diameter of base)

I am now offering the “Perfect Coin Pail” to the international magic community because I know that there are many like me around the world who have been searching for years for a good coin pail.

For more info or to order, check out: www.illusionbooks.com/coinpail.html

About J C Sum

International Headline Entertainer, Content Creator and Investor
This entry was posted in Illusions, Books, Products and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Perfect Coin Pail for the Miser’s Dream

  1. Ger1978 says:

    I know nuts about the coin bucket. But i think all stories deserve a happy ending, especially if the characters are good people. I hope your story will be a happy ending!

Leave a Reply

